Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Garrett Pro Pinpointer
BH Quicksilver
BH Pinpointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
MD'ing Arming Corps of Engineers Land

I am completely new to MD'ing. Went on my first hunt yesterday with my new detector, pinpointer and tools. I found an old 1800-1900 nail in my back yard and got excited hehe that's how new I am. I have done a decent amount of research about MD'ing in my area and know I can do it in my state park nearby with a permit (that I have applied for). My question is has anyone MD'd on Army Corps of Engineers land? For what I have read it can be done in certain areas (non historic, non archeological, etc etc) but before I do it ANYWHERE I wanted to get some peoples opinions and some more information. The area I would be detecting is along popular swimming areas of black river that the Corps owns. I live in Missouri, specifically near Clearwater Lake. Thanks alot in advance!

cactusrat

Jun 27, 2012
South Texas
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
You will have to write the district office for the park you want to hunt in and ask about metal detecting in the park. Most likely if it’s okay, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers will send you a forum to apply for a permit.

allen_idaho

Dec 4, 2007
Culdesac, Idaho
I have metal detected on ACE land. The rules vary from location to location. Some places are strictly off limits. Some places are ok with permission and/or a permit.

Whatever you do, do not simply go onto the property and start detecting without permission. Due to the ownership, that is a federal offense. And you really don't want that on your record.

Gimmie The Loot

Bronze Member
May 11, 2010
Driftwood, TX
Detector(s) used
etrac, ACE 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting