Question.. About Oregon Trail

Duffala

Sep 25, 2012
Mountain Home, idaho
Detector(s) used
On my second Garrett Ace 250 ; Garrett Pro- Pin Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Alright this just might seem silly to even ask.. But i am new to searching anything other than beaches..

From my understanding here in Idaho you can metal detect and gold pan on BLM public lands.. The Oregon Trail runs all around the area I live mainly on BLM. Would a person be able to metal detect on that area? Ive searched Google with not much help.. Any information would be helpful.

Thanks

S

stefen

The Oregon Trail is a line on a map, yet its probably not under any type of protective order...

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
If you've already deduced that you can detect in a certain area, then it's as stefen says: the "oregon trail" is nothing but a line on a map. So if you can detect at some point/spot along it, then .... go do it :) There is nothing uniform or across the board that disallows detecting on the "oregon trail", since that's an ambiguous nebulous line, crossing through a myriad of different entities.

Oh, and the best places to detect along the trail, would not simply be to find where the trail went, and start checking alongside of it. Instead, the best places, are where they STOPPED. Ie.: camped for the night, especially if there were some sort of commercial venture going on there (trading post, saloon, stage stop, etc....).

OP
OP
Duffala

Duffala

Sep 25, 2012
Mountain Home, idaho
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Thanks for the responses. I did find those groups but no replies and the one didn't seem very active. Now to do some research on them stopping points in them area.

Jim in Idaho

Silver Member
Jul 21, 2012
Blackfoot, Idaho
Detector(s) used
White's GM2, GM3, DFX, Coinmaster, TDI-SL, GM24K, Falcon MD20, old Garrett Masterhunter BFO