SoCalBeachScanner

Aug 17, 2013
Coastal Orange County, CA
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett ATX, AT Pro, ProPointer, and a weirdly good sense of direction
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Now there's a post after my own heart. I've been thinking for months to head up and MD in Lone Pine, Big Pine, Independance, and the Bishop area. I'm not sure about the laws, but I'll keep an eye on your post incase someone chimes in on the laws. I've been going up there since the early 70's fishing and know of lots of trails along creeks, the owens river, and the Alabama Hills area that I feel would be great for old coins and relics. I'm fairly new to MD, so I'm ready to hit all the spots that I know of out in the middle of nowhere.

That whole area around the Lake Owens goes back to the early 1800's. People were fishing those creeks in the 1800's. Across dried up Lake Owens is a town called Keeler (old mining town) that has only a few people now, but back in 1860 it had about 40,000 people, more people then LA had at that time. Tons of history in the Owens Valley. I can't wait to MD it.

Last edited:
OP
OP
B

benchthis2012

Tenderfoot
Jun 24, 2012
Manteca Ca.
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Compadre
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks beach scanner, probably will be in Lone Pine about the first of November, yep the hills are one place I want to check out, just need to do some research on them! Will keep you posted!

S

stefen

Several Native American Rancheritos (reservations) and the WWII Japanese Interment Camp...a lot of open ranch land...and a lot of gun totter's.

Trespassing is frowned on...

A lot of that area is Federal land and bail is not offered until after arraingment...

In other words, always get permission to hunt...

TommyB

Jul 24, 2013
OC, Calif
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Whites Surf PI & Whites DFX
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting