Have Any of You Had Bad Experiences With People that See You Metal Detecting?

coinman123

Silver Member
Feb 21, 2013
New England, Somewhere Metal Detecting in the Wood
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Teknetics T2 SE (DST)
Spare Teknetics T2 SE (backup)
15" T2 coil
Pro-Pointer
Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202
Fisher F2
Fisher F-Point
Primary Interest:
Other
I have not have many bad experience, most people are interested in my hobby and ask some questions like "Find anything cool?" Every now and then I have some bad experiences. I have had people call the cops on me even though I am metal detecting legally on public land. I was metal detecting in some public woods when a mom with two kids sees me metal detecting, the woman stands there staring at me for two minutes then pulls out her phone and dials a number. Ten mintues later a police officer rides by on his bike and stares at me as he rides by than turns around, he never said a word to me even though he noticed I was there, I was there for another hour before I left with no problems. I was metal detecting with a friend when I person walks by and asks, "Hello, How are you, are you metal detecting?" he seemed friendly so my friend relied and said, "Yes, we are, we are looking for old relics and such from the colonial times" He said, "There are some cellar holes over here, probably good stuff there" I said, "Cool, I will have to check there for old items" He was nice at that time then he said this, "If you find anything, even if it is a gold coin, just leave it where you found in and put it back in the hole, it would be very bad to take anything with you" he said in an aggravated tone of voice. The place where I was at was legal to metal detect at, I checked the laws for the town and it said that it was fine to metal detect in that kind of place. What was weird was that he gave me a great place and told me not to detect there? The most weird thing happened when I was alone, at a playground. A man walks