Yardage and old foundations

Pa.Billy

May 10, 2008
Indiana Co. Pa......... finds include,confedera
Detector(s) used
Garrett 2500
Hi everyone,this is my first post here on this site,what an active site,it's great. I've been detecting at old foundations for 5 years now. I haven't found a whole lot except for my first time out with my first serious detector and that was a significant find to say the least.
I would like to ask all of you if I may how many yards away from the foundation do you detect out to ? Personally I get discouraged easily and would probably estimate out to about 20-25 yards. I know every situation is different including such things as time frames concerning the time span of the houses existence and many other factors.To narrow it down a bit I'm thinking along the lines of a 1800's house that maybe hasn't had anyone living there for 100 years. and is off the beaten trail in the middle of the woods. Please any general characterization of your distances would be appreciated. I've always wondered about this and how other people decide this.

BuckleBoy

Gold Member
Jun 12, 2006
Moonlight and Magnolias
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75, Whites DualField PI, Fisher 1266-X and Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi there!

I am 99% housesite hunter these days, and here's what I do...