I am new to detecting, and need some advice

Narthoniel

Bronze Member
Jul 1, 2008
Virginia Beach
Detector(s) used
Excal 2 and E Trac
Hello,

I recently came up with metal detecting as one hobby that i can do to make money, and not spend it. So about 2 weeks ago, I bought a Whites Prism 3, to see if I would enjoy the hobby, and to see what I could get out of it. Well, I am hooked, in the last 2 weeks, I have been out every day but one for hours at a time. I kind of told my self I wouldnt buy anything else for this hobby, unless the hobby paid for it. Not only that, but money is tight for my wife and I, so most of my questions refer to equipment.

I live near a very busy tourist beach, and for the last 2 weeks, have combed it almost daily. I have done pretty well there, but I can only hunt in the dry sand, as the Prism does not work so well near the salt water. I have met many people out hunting in the water, and they seem to find a lot more of the good jewelry items that I am interested in.

All that being said, I have a few questions to ask, and I appreciate any feedback avaliable. Since I have never done much of any digging or searching in hard ground, or research on old homesites, I am at a loss for how to go about those things. I also have no clue about machines for the water, and things of that nature.

Will my Prism work in the dirt? And how effective is it?
What types of detectors work best in Salt water? How affordable are they?
Is it worth buying a pinpointer to use when using a detector in dirt/hard ground?
Typically how deep are objects in the surf zone at the beach?
What methods fo selling silver and gold jewelry are best?

That is all I can think of right now. I will post more questions later if they occur to me.

Thank you very much for any help and/or insight into this hobby,
Anthony

flyinguy

Apr 27, 2008
central new york
Detector(s) used
2 compass coin pros