Need Advice - Looking for a lost ring in FL

Sir Digs-A-Lot

Sep 14, 2008
Orlando Florida
Detector(s) used
Excalibur II and ACE 250
About 20 years ago my mother lost a gold ring that belonged to my grandfather. She dropped it somewhere in his small front yard and was never able to find it. Last month we returned to the home site and she showed me approximately where she lost it. I just bought a detector last week and want to go look for it and surprise her with it (my grandfather passed away 4 years ago). It's a simple gold ring with tiger eye stone. Not very valuable other than the family value - it was a gift from my grandmother to my grandfather.

Here is where I need advice... the house has been leveled and the lot is now vacant and for sale. I imagine there is trash everywhere in that lot from the demolition. My detector is an Excalibur II w/ 10 in coil and I'm still learning it's tones. How will the Excalibur do in this environment? Should I rent another machine w/ smaller coil and visual ID? I'd obviously like to avoid digging every screw and nail. Any thoughts on how deep a ring could sink in 20 years in Florida soil w/ St. Augustine grass?

Also, I checked county records and learned that the realtor owns the property. I have left messages stating only that I have a question regarding the property, but my calls have not been returned so far. I believe my best chance at gaining permission is to explain exactly what happened and hope for the best. Any thoughts on how to ask permission once the owner/realtor calls back? If he denies permission I would probably counter with a cash offer, maybe 50 bucks. Any experience in this type of negotiation will be most welcome.