magnetometer vs side scan sonar

eborac

Jan 15, 2005
North Queensland, Australia
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
hi all,
I am gearing up to search for a B17 bomber and an 1850's shipwreck in july. Both are supposed to be in an area of flat bottom but with coral bommies all around. I have one of those early (1990's) interphase dash board sonars which is very useful for finding channels in dirty water but so far as locating anything else is concerned I don't think much of it. What sort of $ does one look at for a small towing type magnetometer or sonar. Which of the two types would be the wiser choice. The average depth in my area is only 25 metres (80").
thanks in advance for any advice. cheers HH

DBugR

May 8, 2005
Goodlettsville, TN
I'm no expert on either, but I had extensive experience with side scan sonar while in the Navy. Of course back then (1984-1985), we didn't have the luxury of today's 3D software technology, so it required some skill to identify some items at depths greater than 30 meters. However, at the depth you're talking about, you should be able to identify just about anything you're looking for using side scan sonar. See this link for example: http://www.abc.se/~pa/mar/sidescan.htm. I've seen them list for sale on eBay occasionally. Don't know what they sold for, but for a new one, you could pay upwards of $25K. Just a thought, but you might try contacting NOAA (National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration) to see if they have any used equipment sales to the public.

Hope it helps, and best of luck!
DBugR

riobravo

Apr 2, 2006
south texas to the east coast
howdy dbugr,
Ive had experience with side scan and mags and sounds to me that the mag would be the better option and with the computer software available these days anomaly targeting and presence of engine blocks and other ferrous materials would stand out where as you projects may be scattered among the coral without definitive shape making for long days looking at screens.