What I did this weekend (Couple sluices)

Astrobouncer

Jun 21, 2009
I had to stay home this past weekend instead of prospecting like I usually do, so I figured I would put the time to good use and make a couple new sluices and an easy classifier for my buckets.

Keep in mind I am a full time college student on a real limited budget, so I am trying to do everything as cost effective as possible. That means no miners moss, aluminum, etc (I have no equipment to work with metal). I can work with wood because my cousin is a woodworker and I can use his shop when hes not busy (which is about once a month if I am lucky).

I am obviously no woodworker, but I am getting better at making stuff each time I do it.

My first sluice I made months back is the big long one, the one that is longer then the shovel. It is inspired by the sluice here: http://forum.treasurenet.com/index.php/topic,176317.0.html and uses a similar design except mine has some 1/4" riffles in the long inspection mat and uses a black expanded metal throughout, along with some screening down under the end riffles. It weighs 22 lbs complete with flare. It isnt too bad to cleanup, you have to take 2 screws out and then the riffles + carpet comes out. I had to use silicon to seal the joints of the wood, because this one was done by handsaws and it wasnt completely straight, heh. It is 9 inchs in width and 54 inchs long before the flare. I used a couple coats of varnish to waterproof the whole thing. The carpeting/matting under the riffles is some kinda old outdoor rug I cut up.

The first sluice I made is ok, but as you can see the riffle design could use some improvement. Plus its not very efficient for all of its length. It fills up with black sand fast in the riffles and I have to empty it alot because if I dont the heavies will wash through. The long inspection mat is great for seeing if theres gold in an area or not though.