Sluice Matting

strech

Greenie
May 25, 2011
I'm using a new mat called Vortex that is excellent in catching fine gold.
Ive been working the Oregon beaches for 3 to 4 years now and find this
to be the best matting Ive ever used.I have ran close to 250 to 300# of
cons and i'm only loosing about 5 or 6 specs of gold per hundred lbs.
of cons.This is not a scientific test. At any rate I'm very pleased with
these results. Has anyone else used this Vortex matting? Happy to
answer questions ...Strech

Upvote 0

Goodyguy

Gold Member
Mar 10, 2007
Arizona
Detector(s) used
Whites TM 808, Whites GMT, Tesoro Lobo Super Traq, Fisher Gold Bug 2, Suction Dredges, Trommels, Gold Vacs, High Bankers, Fluid bed Gold Traps, Rock Crushers, Sluices, Dry Washers, Miller Tables, Rp4
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to T-Net Strech!

I just started using it this year and I think it's great! Unlike Nomad (miners moss) or carpet, this stuff doesn't load up with anything but the heavies.

It's easy to clean, it's waterproof, the fine gold doesn't get lost in carpet fibers and you don't have to run ribbed rubber under it. Just the Vortex mat and that's all. And for fine or flour gold you don't even need riffles or expanded mesh just run the water slower than usual and the mat does the rest.

*Note: Be sure to run enough water over it to eliminate excess air bubbles before running your pay dirt.

I expect many will convert to it once they have seen it in action.

Go for the Gold!
GG~

Astrobouncer

Jun 21, 2009
Funny you should mention this stuff. I use it as an inspection tray under my high bankers grizzly to show me if I am in a good spot or not. The rough top conveyor belt (vortex matting) catches most of the gold, the raised expanded barely has anything. Here's some of the gold it had in it today.

And that gold in the pan.

OP
OP
S

strech

Greenie
May 25, 2011
Thanks for the welcoming. As soon as I learn how to send