I am new to panning

StevenHavillJr

Jul 15, 2012
Canyon Lake, Texas
Detector(s) used
MPX Digital and Garret Pin-Pointer
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello everyone I am Steven and I have been researching how to pan for gold, I am looking for any advice as a beginner. I have invested in a few items to start practicing panning namely a Garrett 15" Super Sluice Gold Pan and a Garrett 14" Sifter/Classifier Gold Pan. I had found these from Kellyco's website.

I am getting into this hobby with my father whom has intrigued me about finding gold, so here I am looking for some tips, I have seen some instructional videos using BB's as if it were the gold but then I find paydirt on ebay and wonder if that would be better practice? Just curious about this stuff.

Any information you give me will be greatly appreciated and thank you for reading my post.

Upvote 0

OKIE

Jan 8, 2012
Iron Station, NC
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to Tnet Steven. Try using some lead fishing weight's, the split ones and brake them into and even cut them down in smaller pieces and hammer some of them flat. Make many different sizes ( the smaller the better) and practice panning with them. The flattened lead is more like gold than BB's. As far as ebay pay dirt, I wouldn't waste ur time or money. There are some guys here that would be better to get pay dirt from. kuger is a good guy he will do u right on pay dirt. As far as the rest its just a lot of reading and then getting out there and doing it. What part of the world are you in?
I hope this helps some, good luck

Last edited:
OP
OP
S

StevenHavillJr

Jul 15, 2012
Canyon Lake, Texas
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hey there, thanks for the welcome and response! I am from Southern California right near the beach. There is a fish store not far from me I am sure I could pick up some of the weights and do as instructed. I will be sure to get in contact with kuger about possible pricing.