Dumb Question from Newbie?

PAyoungin

Dec 8, 2006
Schuylkill County, PA
Detector(s) used
ACE 250 Hopefully
This may be unbelievably dumb, but im new to treasure hunting and I want to dabble in a little bit of everything (detecting, collecting, dredging, antiquing)...but my question is would it be possible to use a wet/dry power vac as a dredge? Im only 16 and likemmost 16 year old, strapped for cash. So would this be possible? Has anyone tried this? this may be dumb but i thought id ask anyway because if i dont ask ill never know. Thanks
PAyoungin

Upvote 0

eathan

May 19, 2006
Oregon
Detector(s) used
Goldmaster V-SAT, ACE 250, Lobo SuperTRAQ
It could work, but I think you'd run into a couple problems using one as a dredge, plus the risk of electrocuting yourself... On the other hand, if you have power, you might want to try the vac for cleaning out cracks in the bedrock up on the bank. Lots of gold to be had up out of the water as well.

If you really want to try dredging on the cheap, maybe a gravity dredge would be an option. If you've ever siphoned gas, or water out of a fishtank, etc, you get the idea. There are some plans and info linked under gravity dredges

Another option is to build your own. Dredges are pretty simple once you get the principle. A pump, a sluice (even homemade), an innner tube, some hoses and a few plumbing fittings could get you started in the right direction.

Good luck!

OP
OP
P

PAyoungin

Dec 8, 2006
Schuylkill County, PA
Detector(s) used
ACE 250 Hopefully
Thanks i appreciate the help, and i think im going to try out those plans. You wouldnt happen to know if there is some if any gold known to be found in central PA? I have never really heard of anyone finding anything.Thanks
PAyoungin

Nov 8, 2004
Alamos,Sonora,Mexico
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting