Public Places to Prospect in CA

T3112H

Jan 13, 2013
I'm new to hold prospecting and was looking for some help on where I can go prospecting in the Auburn, CA area without joining a club or purchasing a claim. I might eventually go that route, but I can't justify the cost (I can, but my wife can't) quite yet...

Is there some website that makes this information available? I've gone to one spot on state land (Water Agency) in Colfax, CA but am looking to venture elsewhere.

Like I said, I'm new to the game and would appreciate any help I can get. The people on this board have been great thus far and thought I would at least ask. Thanks

Upvote 0

Goldwasher

Gold Member
May 26, 2009
Sailor Flat, Ca.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
SDC2300, Gold Bug 2 Burlap, fish oil, .35 gallons of water per minute.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
There are acres and acres of spots very close to you.

sidvail

Jan 11, 2013
Cottonwood, CA
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I was up on the American river today. Actually, just got back. I took Foresthill Road out to Ponderosa Way and followed it down to the bridge (north fork) Gives you a nice spot to play around in. $10.00 day use fee though. I was out for about 4 hours collecting concentrate. Saw color in the pan, but haven't done a clean up yet. I saw 3 groups of people out there panning and sniping. There's these awesome holes in the bed rock where pebbles get caught and grind it out. I didn't bring a sucker or even my snuffer bottle, so I couldn't get down inside them. I did pull a bullet, huge lead weight, and a penny out of a larger one I could get my hand into. I'm going back with a sucker. :)