Blue bowl

Dirk Pitt

Greenie
Feb 24, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have been prospecting for about six months now and have bit of a problem. In the area I go to, there isn't much gold, and what there is isn't very big, mostly 20 mesh or smaller. I built a miller table but it doesn't work all that well, so, been thinking about buying a blue bowl. Anyone have any advice on this before I buy one?

Upvote 0

419GottaMinute

Jul 1, 2012
colfax, ca
Detector(s) used
Garrett gtax 400
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
If you do get one, classify, classify, classify! They lose gold and take forever to process if you dont classify and run like-sized material through it. That being said, they work well and are quiet enough to watch tv while you run it.

jmoller99

Jan 8, 2010
Colorado Springs, Colorado USA
Detector(s) used
Whites GMT, Goldmaster Vsat, 5900, Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300 and Falcon MD-20.
Primary Interest:
Other
I can't agree more about classification. I have 4 classifiers stacked on top of each other. On the bottom is 100 mesh, next is 70 mesh, next is 50 mesh and on the top is 30 mesh. I dump my concentrates on the top one and wash (with water) the concentrates thru. I run what shows up at each level by itself in the Blue Bowl - each will have its water set differenty. I also put in a brass water valve (from the hardware store) to adjust it in place of the plastic valve the Blue Bowl comes with.

Color-blind

Greenie
Jan 22, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting