Question about filing a placer claim in Idaho on BLM land

Storm180

Tenderfoot
Mar 5, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am new to the gold prospecting thing. My friend and I kind of got the gold bug last year while on a rafting trip and seeing and talking to some dredgers on the side of the river. So this year we pooled some extra money together for some equipment and see what we come up with. We actually already pulled some flakes and a few small nuggets from a dried up river bed that is on my property that is fed by Boise River in the spring.. Just to make sure we had the gold tested by a jeweler friend of mine and its real gold.

I am looking to get a placer claim on BLM land in Idaho and I have been on their website to read the instruction on how to do it but my big question is can I prospect the area first to make sure there is gold in the area first before I file the claim? I have my gold maps current active claims and abandoned claims and I have checked the initial area verified using BLM's system and there is no current claim on the 20 acre area that I am looking at. I have tried emailing BLM here in Idaho but I have not gotten any response and no one has returned my phone call. My other concern would be accidently jumping someone claim or testing an area for gold on BLM land that someone else has a claim on and not knowing it. I know they are supposed to put up markers but 20 acres of land you might never see the markers. I have the 2012 - 2013 claim maps loaded into the gps so I don't cross any boundary line but if its an updated claim it might not be on my maps. Does anyone else do anything differently?