San Juan Nation Forest

eyecancer

Mar 3, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Howdy!

I am a SW Colorado student and I will be spending the majority of my free summer in the hills around Silverton. I also joined GPAA as they have a claim on the Animas river just south of Silverton and picking the brains of others for gold is invaluable. The first meeting I will attend is this Wednesday. I have a few creeks picked out in the San Juan National Forest that I'd also like to prospect. The gear I chose was the basic Garret gold panning kit and the Angus MacKirk Recon gold trap sluice for it's portability. I've got the cabin and gold fever right now.

Is anyone in the Durango area? Have experience in the San Juans? How are the rangers here in enforcing 14 day camp limit? If I file a letter of intent will that guarantee a ranger checking up on me? As for the Weminuche Wilderness area, it is off limits for mineral exploration correct? If anyone is familiar with the area, how is the prospecting on the Animas near Needleton? The No Name and Ten Mile creeks look promising. I believe the old miners never had a chance to develop the minerals in the Weminuche as it was too rugged, possibly leaving more for the modern prospector. Looking forward to what you guys think.

Upvote 0

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
14 day limit: sometimes they will let you stay longer if you keep your camp really clean, keep a low profile...and don't ask (so they don't have to TELL you the rules.)