Lucky Gator

May 10, 2013
Montana
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hey all, I am a newbie to this site and the whole prospecting thing in general. I am a 45 year old disabled veteran, and have taken up prospecting with my 8 year old son, who is a real rock hound. I live in Montana so opportunities abound here. Right now we are doing a little panning and some "hard rock" mining, and by that I mean we are finding a lot of quartz and then busting it up to see what treasures it holds. So far we have found some promising looking quartz in one area, and are in the process of staking it. Any advice any of you all might have is welcome. I don't foresee this becoming anything more than a bonafide hobby, but I do envision spending a substantial amount of time in the field. We just joined the GPAA and will be joining the local mineral club as well. Eventually I would like to get a detector and try prospecting that way, but might want to do a little relic hunting as well. Any thoughts on a decent "multi purpose" detector? I have heard that Garret makes a good one. Thanks, look forward to hearing from everyone.
PIC_0596_edited-1.JPG

Upvote 0

buttedigger

Mar 31, 2013
Butte, MT
Detector(s) used
Garret AT PRO /Tesoro Lobo SuperTRAQ
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting