Classifiers

jojo21

Aug 16, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello everyone,

I am new to gold prospecting, and I need a little bit of help. I found a prospecting kit that I thought might be a good deal as it comes with 2 classifiers, to pans both 14 and 10 inch sizes, tweezers, a sniffer bottle, 5 various size vials, and a black sand magnet for 40 bucks. The classifiers comes in sizes 1/4 and 1/8, but can also get in others sizes if I want to change that. I was wondering what would be the best sizes for classifiers to use? I would be thankful for any suggestions you can give.

Upvote 0

Jeff95531

Silver Member
Feb 10, 2013
Deep in the redwoods of the TRUE Northern CA
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Alpha 2000
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Welcome to the Forum jojo21. What part of the country do you live in? I have pretty much the same equipment you have and it serves me well for placer gold. Depending on what you're working with, I would add a 1/2" to the pair.

OP
OP
J

jojo21

Aug 16, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to the Forum jojo21. What part of the country do you live in? I have pretty much the same equipment you have and it serves me well for placer gold. Depending on what you're working with, I would add a 1/2" to the pair.

Thanks Jeff, I live in Georgia, Savannah to be exact. I am not sure if I will have much luck around here, but I thought I would try learning the techniques so when I am able to go some place that is good for panning I will know what to do. Thanks for the advice. The person selling the kit will allow you to switch classifiers, so which one would you recommend keeping and which one would you change?

OP
OP
J

jojo21

Aug 16, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Stick with the 1/4 and 1/8. IMHO, you don't want to be picking rocks out of your pan when you'd rather be panning:icon_thumleft:
Also, find Gold Hog's profile and posts. He's in GA too! GL&HH!