Headed to Nome

GoldenArrow

Dec 10, 2013
Portland, OR
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Well howdy folks,

I have found this forum very helpful. I am a teacher and looking to try my hand in Nome this summer. Offshore dredging. I plan to be in the 570 acre recreational areas the first year until I have the lay of the land and can make a deal with a claim owner. I don't need to make money the first year, but I can't afford to lose much either.

Does people have opinion on these listings I see on ebay and craigslist for offshore gold dredges and claims?

Any other Nome advice would be most welcome.

Doug. :goldpan:

Upvote 0

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Do you have experience diving?
How about running a dredge? (In a local stream perhaps at least)
How about maneuvering a boat?
How about doing mechanical repairs in the field?
How about adjusting a sluice to be efficient?
How about panning out you sluice concentrates, got good panning skills?

If yes to all the above you might be ready to go Bering sea diving...

Hoser John

Gold Member
Mar 22, 2003
Redding,Calif.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
#1 rule a mining=is a fool and his money are soon parted. Stick to the lower 48 as 1/10th the cost,1/4 the hastles, 10X warmer and dollar for dollar and hour for hour MUCH more profitable, enjoyable and add in 10X more requirements than stated above even. Good place to die the Bering sea is for noobs and even experienced miners leave quick-John

loco oro

Aug 15, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting