Is this My Gold or is it a Fools Gold?

Audigger123

Greenie
Apr 27, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Is this My Gold or is it a Fool's Gold?

Hey guys. I sluiced about 10 gallons of material. It's never been tested or anything like that, and it comes from a pit. It's a dark sand. Upon close inspection you can see hints of shine in the dirt. It's mostly fine rocks.
I started to pan what was left of the 10 gallons of material I ran, keep in mind I have no experience and everything including my sluice and pan are homemade based on DIY's found on this very forum, and I've recovered the flakes that make the sand shine. Whether or not it's gold, I have no idea. I was hoping if you guys could help me identify exactly what it is. If you have any questions or would like more pictures let me know. I plan on getting it tested, but I'm going to be way to busy for at least a week.. Thanks guys. 20140426_221147.jpg 20140426_204729.jpg 20140426_204719.jpg 20140426_203848.jpg 20140426_183007.jpg 20140426_221304.jpg 20140426_220128.jpg Click on the second last photo to see a larger version, it's the largest flakes I have found.

Upvote 0

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Looks like it could be gold. Does it stay the same color in the shade as in the light or turn brown? Same is good, gold doesn't change colors. How does it move in the pan compared to other stuff when you swirl the water around? Gold is more dense than most everything else so it will sit still when other stuff starts to move when you swirl the water around. What happens if you press down on it with a screwdriver tip...gold won't shatter or crush, other stuff will.

Pass these tests and you can be pretty confident you have gold.

DizzyDigger

Gold Member
Dec 9, 2012
Concrete, WA
Detector(s) used