Disabled Veteran - Advice on carrying cons out, please help!

Fossil4Life

Jul 11, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Today, my wife and I went on our first gold prospecting outing at a privately owned creek known for producing gold. Everything went well, until it was time to pack up and leave. Our concentrate (sized to 1/4" via a HogPan) filled a 5-gallon bucket to just over 3/4 full. I would guess that the bucket weighed 60-70 pounds.

I am a disabled veteran, and I have degenerative disc disease in my lower back (aircraft mechanic in the USAF) and it took everything I had to carry that 5-gallon bucket of concentrate out. I know that going forward, I will not be able to physically do that again. The mind and will are strong, the body not so much.

Anyhow, I'm looking for advice and tips on what I can do to carry out our concentrate in the future without so much effort. I know many here will say to classify out on the water, and I agree with that to some extent, but I want to spend time on the water gathering concentrate, not classifying it. Also, I'm looking to recover as much gold as efficiently and effectively as I can, and I want to do that with a Miller table at home.

I've seen some carts with wheels that fit a 5-gallon bucket, but that is simply not feasible when trekking through rock strewn creek beds and forging your own path through overgrowth. The only solution I've been able to come up with is an ALICE type backpack with a garbage bag lined inside of it that the concentrate can be emptied into.

I figure that carrying concentrate via a backpack has got to be easier than dead lifting 60-70 pounds of concentrate in a 5-gallon bucket via a handle. I'm up for better ideas though, and any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Upvote 0

allen_idaho

Dec 4, 2007
Culdesac, Idaho