Bought a piece of property and found gold... Now what?

Yesterdaysgvl

Jan 12, 2015
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello prospectors, I posted this in the wrong forum at first... I am new at this... I bought some property to build a cabin and while walking up a steep hill to check out an area for a home site I picked up these tiny quartz rocks, took them home and hit them a few times with a hammer then panned the bit I broke up (Didn't get them broke up very well so just a little bit to pan. I was just goofing off.... Well looks like there's gold in them there hills. Most of the property is ancient creek bed and bottomland with not much buildable area except up a steep hill. The hill is layered with distinctive layers of different clay colors and rock content and quartz to the ancient stream bed with two springs leaching from part way up the hill from underground and making there way above ground crossing the ancient river bed to the creek... in the middle of the clay layers there is an odd hard rock formation (could it be a vent pipe, if so what do I do next?)

I'm looking for advice on what steps to take to enjoy (maybe even profit from) my piece of land. It is in the Southeast, but isn't in an area where most would expect to find gold.

I'm thinking of getting a pyramid pro pan, does anyone have any experience with them.. All I own is a gold pan my brother in law gave me, so what all should I purchase (BTW, I'm poor so cheap is good) Any recommendations for low cost ways to extract gold and how to get it out of quartz? I think I have a lot of learning to do...

Sorry for the low quality phone pics...
Gold photo 1 (14).JPG Gold photo 2 (7).JPG

Upvote 0

arizau

Bronze Member
May 2, 2014
AZ
Detector(s) used
Beach High Banker, Sweep Jig, Whippet Dry Washer, Lobo ST, 1/2 width 2 tray Gold Cube, numerous pans, rocker box, and home made fluid bed and stream sluices.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting