Where do you dig on a cobble stone bar?

PurpleGold

Apr 17, 2015
Superior, Colorado
Detector(s) used
30" Sniper Bazooka Gold Trap, X-Stream Hybrid Pro hand dredge, Royal Manufacturing 54" Powered Stream Sluice, Pans of all different sizes and shapes
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Forgive my newbness please:icon_scratch:. I'm just getting into this and absolutely loving it. There a few local spots to me near Denver Colorado that have cobble stone bars. When the water level gets low they are almost completely exposed. Where do you experienced prospectors dig when the cobble stone bar is exposed? I was thinking to dig at the furthest down stream point or just after the cobble stones. Please help point me in the right direction. Thanks! You guys :headbang:

Upvote 0

mytimetoshine

Bronze Member
Jun 23, 2013
El Dorado County
Detector(s) used
GRIZZLY GOLD TRAP - ANGUS MACKIRK EXPLORER- BLUE BOWL - GOLD CUBE, MINELAB PRO 25 PINPOINTER-
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You usually find more gold closer to bedrock, behind boulders or in exposed bed rock cracks. But if your area is anything like mine you should be able to find some AU in amongst the cobbles. Just toss larger ones to the side, shovel smaller material thru you classifier or straight into a BGT and you should get some color. Have you done any test panning?

SchoolOfHardRocks

Apr 30, 2014
Gone, With the Wind
Primary Interest:
Other
I'm a newbie myself but i believe the most upriver or downriver points of the bar will pay the best. Also, identify where the larger cobbles are accumulating and that's likely where the heavy stuff (the gold) is dropping off. Best way to find out is to sample sample sample!

huntsman53

Gold Member
Jun 11, 2013
East Tennessee
Primary Interest:
Other