Got any tips for a beginner in California??

Jan 15, 2016
Fresno, CA
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-Trac
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I am a college student in Fresno, CA and I honestly love this hobby and have for years. Used to work in a really nice pawn store as their sales rep for White's metal detectors and other prospecting supplies. Sold gold/silver bullion and old coins as well. Anyways in between classes I have been trying to go out an do some detecting and prospecting. I just have a few questions that I am sure a few of you could answer.

1. Does anyone know of some good places to start gold panning or using a sluice box near the Fresno area? Camping is my favorite so I also don't mind traveling. I am not expecting you to tell me your best places. Any beginner place will be fine. (So far I have been to the San Joaquin River near town and it only yields extremely small gold specs, still fun though =P)

2. If i were to be looking to buy a nice decent size sluice box, what would you recommend?

3. Any other general tips would be great!

I plan on doing this hobby for a long time. Once I graduate college here soon my father and I are going to England on one of those trips and detect the fields hoping to find some awesome history! He will take my E-Trac and I plan on buying a CTX 3030. Anyways thanks for the information!

IMG_3346.JPG

This was me out there today in the freezing water. Only got to spend about thirty minutes out there but it was mostly just to give my friends a chance to knock panning for gold off their bucket list.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
California_Diggin
Jan 15, 2016
Fresno, CA
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-Trac
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Oh perfect thank you! Still getting used to the layout of the site. Appreciate it!

digging440yrs

Gold Member
Dec 5, 2012
UPSTATE NEW YORK
Detector(s) used
1970 COMPASS-
WHITES SILVER EAGLE-
WHITES DFX, 4X6DD COIL, 6X8DD COIL, 950 COIL, 10X12SEF COIL-