satalite images

ffmurray

Greenie
Aug 1, 2016
new mexico
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I took a look at the same area in the santa fe national forest with a couple of different satellite imaging services. With each service I was zoomed in as far as I could get in roughly the same part of the creek.

Here are the samples in no particular order:

MapQuest
satalite mapquest.PNG

hometownlocator
hometown locator.PNG

google
google.PNG

bing
bing.PNG

mapbox (via gaiagps.com)
satalite mapbox.PNG

Are there any other good sources that I am missing?

For those of you that use satellite images to find good areas, what sort of methods do you use, any tips/tricks or suggested reading would be great. Im just getting into prospecting, and I always love learning new things.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

Goldwasher

Gold Member
May 26, 2009
Sailor Flat, Ca.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
SDC2300, Gold Bug 2 Burlap, fish oil, .35 gallons of water per minute.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
that happens hen Barry is around

arizau

Bronze Member
May 2, 2014
AZ
Detector(s) used
Beach High Banker, Sweep Jig, Whippet Dry Washer, Lobo ST, 1/2 width 2 tray Gold Cube, numerous pans, rocker box, and home made fluid bed and stream sluices.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Odd that no one has mentioned this site yet. http://www.mylandmatters.org/Maps/ One of the most valuable tools available to prospectors no matter if they are new or experienced. Explore it first then ask questions if you have any. Hint: Pull up the interactive claims maps for NM and Co (your stated interests).

Good luck from a NM native.

Last edited:

jere64ca

Jul 16, 2016
San Luis Obispo, CA.
Detector(s) used
GB Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I like caltopo.com,,,, yes it covers more than just CA. It uses the same imagery as google but is easier to use with many options.

winners58

Bronze Member
Apr 4, 2013
Oregon
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Last edited:

jere64ca

Jul 16, 2016