short34

Greenie
Oct 26, 2009
grandview plaza junction city kansas
Detector(s) used
whites xlt
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
hello there I'm kind of new to gold prospecting. back when I went to school in north Carolina we went to a place called reeds gold mine and I caught the fever there but never really got the chance to do anymore since then. I have done some metal detecting but there aren't that many places to go where I live here. so I'm thinking about joining the gpaa but before I do wanted to make sure it wasn't a waste ok time so any info about them and there claims would be I would be thankful. I looking at getting a high banker plus looking like minded people to possibly go prospecting with to show me and my wife any tips and info. we live in Kansas and was looking at going prospecting in Colorado during spring break this yr if everything goes right.

Upvote 0

kcm

Gold Member
Feb 29, 2016
NW Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
Other
I'm not nor have I ever been a GPAA member. ...I also have never (YET!!) been prospecting! :crybaby2: That said, it's really going to be an individual choice. There's a lot of people currently using GPAA properties, with even more that no longer do. But if you're looking to learn some hands-on experience, I think it would be well worth the investment. You could also do lots of research and make friends who may invite you on a private outing now and then. Or, simply be a loner and charge out there on your own. Regardless of what you do in the end, just get out there! I cannot tell you how badly I wish I had made this a higher priority back when my health was better. GPAA does a lot of good, but also don't overlook another good source - STATE-level GPAA clubs! These are different than the national club and will have their own dues. I don't think you have to be a member of any one in order to be a member of the other....if that makes any sense. :tongue3:

russau

Gold Member
May 29, 2005