Best way to recover fine flour gold

thepooch39

Feb 1, 2018
Florence, WI
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hey all,

I'm pretty new to prospecting, but am really enjoying this! I live in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, and just about everywhere I look I can find gold, but in small amounts, and its super fine. I've been looking into the best way to recover this gold. I've been researching blue bowls vs. miller table vs. mini sluice boxes ect. What is the best way to recover this super fine gold? Advice please!! Also if anyone has any experience prospecting in this part of the country, I would love to pick your brain!!

Thank you everyone!

Upvote 0

arizau

Bronze Member
May 2, 2014
AZ
Detector(s) used
Beach High Banker, Sweep Jig, Whippet Dry Washer, Lobo ST, 1/2 width 2 tray Gold Cube, numerous pans, rocker box, and home made fluid bed and stream sluices.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Your exact question is not clear to me but........Have you looked at the Gold Cube?* With one you can run volumes** of gold bearing sand/minus 1/8" feed material and, after each cleanup, end up with just a cupful or so of concentrates to deal with and extract the gold from. The best way to deal with those concentrates (actually any concentrates from any concentration process where the expectation is that they contain very small particles of gold) is to first screen them to produce batches of only like sized material of smaller and smaller mesh sizes such as minus 30 plus 50, minus 50 plus 100, etc. When gold is the same size as all other material in a batch it is much easier to pan or otherwise process (miller table, blue bowl, etc.) because it is at least 3 times heavier than anything else its size.

*Originally developed to concentrate Great Lakes gold bearing beach sands.

**The more material you run the more gold you are likely to accumulate in the form of concentrates.

Last edited:

Capt Nemo

Bronze Member
Apr 11, 2015
Oshkosh, WI
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting