Test box?

cavers5

Feb 16, 2005
Hi,

I'm just starting to learn about prospecting and I was wondering if anyone knew of any plans for a homemade "test box/sluice?" We need to build three or four small boxes that we can use to set into the streams for a couple of weeks at a time, just to see if there is any gold. We will only be able to check these boxes every two weeks so we need something sturdy and durable. Also, we want these boxes to last awhile and as we will be moving them around to different locations, would aluminum, plastic, or wood be the best material to use? Any suggestions/ideas/plans are appreciated.

Cavers5

Upvote 0

ATGem

Sep 28, 2007
Central Florida
Detector(s) used
Whites, Garrett, & Compass
Cavers5,

You could try a piece of black plastic corrugated poo pipe available at most hardware stores like Home Depot. Cut it in half down the length and use long tent stakes to keep it in place. Will be easy to place and move from location to location.

Al

OP
OP
C

cavers5

Feb 16, 2005
Appreciate it. My son is my builder, so he'll take a look at it. We haven't started yet, but with the price of gold going sky high, it sure would be worth it!

Cavers5

djui5

Bronze Member
May 22, 2006
Mesa, AZ
Detector(s) used
None
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
They sell them at Wal-Mart too. It's in the RV/Automotive area. They're "crapper" pipes for RV's :) Cheap too.

Also wouldn't hurt to go out with a pan and do some old fashioned panning of the streams. It's been done that way for centuries :)

Oct 6, 2007
Montana
If you are just going to test areas, you would be better off doing it with a pan or by a small back pack sluice and spend a few hours in the creek. River traps are better suited for areas where there are heavy rains, little overburdan, and the creek bed turns over often.