Gold from decomposing granitic rock

Boarteats

Mar 25, 2018
Near Baltimore
Detector(s) used
Falcon MD20
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Have a buddy who has some boulders of decomposing gabbro in his yard. I happened to notice a fair amount of iron oxides in a couple chunks, so offered to crush them up and pan for any gold. See attached pic for results. Shiny bits appear to be gold but haven't done a stannous test yet to be certain. However, pretty confident that it's gold. The pan below was the result of crushing up a couple of fist sized rocks and quick (not careful) panning.

I have very little experience with this whole gold prospecting business, so would like to solicit some experience based opinions. On a scale of 1 to 10 where 1 is trivial amount of gold and 10 is 'lie to friend and try to haul away his boulders in the dead of night', how would you rate the potential for gold yield? (Just kidding about stealing rocks but you get the idea) :)

Attachments

• IMG_2385.jpg
    IMG_2385.jpg
    29.5 KB · Views: 147
Upvote 0

smokeythecat

Gold Member
Nov 22, 2012
Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Yes more than likely it is. Gold occurs in Frederick, Carroll , Washington BALTIMORE, Hartford and Cecil counties. And at my house.

OP
OP
B

Boarteats

Mar 25, 2018
Near Baltimore
Detector(s) used
Falcon MD20
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Yes more than likely it is. Gold occurs in Frederick, Carroll , Washington BALTIMORE, Hartford and Cecil counties. And at my house.

You ain't kidding brother. Found gold in my yard quite by accident several months back. Now, I've started looking around for more. Will be attend my first central Maryland GPAA meeting tonight.

AllenJ

Mar 7, 2018
Northern CA
Detector(s) used
White's TDI SL, Minelab GPX5000 & GM1000, Garrett Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Prospecting