advice needed

just looking

Dec 1, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Greetings all.
I am new to the world of prospecting and have a few questions for getting started. Here are some particulars about my circumstances.
First and foremost I am not delusional. I look for gold as much to spend time in the woods as to find anything. It's just for fun.
I am currently looking on family land in the creeks near my area the border of NC/SC. Historically a well documented area for gold. Old mines are everywhere. Tailing piles right off the side of the road. Piles of quartz rocks everywhere in the woods. All of the creeks have tons of bedrock( or what I believe to be bedrock) there with lots of cracks and crevices. Almost to many places that look promising. My research shows this plot of land to be untouched for at least 50 years.
I have spent some time panning just to see if I could get any color at all but no luck. Could very possible be due to my inexperience panning. What concerned me more is the lack of black sand. I've looked for a mile in each direction with out finding any. After I pan down all I see is small quartz crystals everywhere I dig a hole. Even have scraped many of the cracks with no luck. Other guys near me at least find something when they spend a day out looking.
Anyway, my point is I know there should be some specks in at least one out of 50 pans or so I am thinking of buying a detector. Most likely Gold Bug 2 from what I have read. But before I drop the money I would like to know if that will be of any use to me? The gold I have seen around here is small, like a grain of sand. Will it pick that up so I can at least narrow down where to dig? Am I just crazy for even looking on the East coast? Any advice would be helpful.

Upvote 0

enamel7

Gold Member
Apr 16, 2005
North Carolina
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Gold
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting