High Grade Ore Found

Fossikker

Jun 16, 2011
I've been researching and scouting an area in Nevada for about 5 years now. Last week it finally paid off. I was actually pointed in the right direction over a cup of coffee by an elderly gent who worked the mines for over forty years from New Mexico to Nevada as a powder monkey, and is now a local resident. It took two days but after locating the mine quite a ways up the canyon, I found where they had stock piled some high grade ore. It was covered with about six inches of pine needles and the trees and bushes were growing up out of it. Judging by the size of the trees I'd guess that it's been there for 60 to 70 years. Maybe more. So far I've identified Acanthite, Native Silver, Proustite, Chalcopyrite, Gold, Tennantite, Pyrargyrite, and a couple others. Sent off a couple of pounds to the assayer Monday and I'm anxious to see the results.

Attachments

• 1.JPG
    1.JPG
    95.1 KB · Views: 1,084
  • 2.JPG
    2.JPG
    91.8 KB · Views: 1,689
  • 3.JPG
    3.JPG
    173.1 KB · Views: 1,187
  • 4.JPG
    4.JPG
    133.9 KB · Views: 685
  • 5.JPG
    5.JPG
    256.8 KB · Views: 697
  • 6.JPG
    6.JPG
    225.2 KB · Views: 668

hikeinmts

Bronze Member
Dec 13, 2008
South Korea
Detector(s) used
Cobra II/Minelab Sovereign
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Way to go, guy!!! That looks like some good stuff.
I hunt coins/stuff in S. Korea. My partner and I are researching old gold mining sites here....using military maps, etc.
Have found tailings, but nothing yet. The Japanese took much back to Japan with them while they were still here,
1910 - 1945.
Hope the stuff you found works out for you. Let us know.... :thumbsup:

fossis

Gold Member
Jan 5, 2007
eastern Oklahoma
Detector(s) used
Whites Prizm 11 & White's XLT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Those look promising, Good Luck & Welcome. :thumbsup:

Fossis...............

N.J.THer

Silver Member
Nov 16, 2006
Middlesex County, New Jersey
🥇 Banner finds