Gold ore?

barbergirl27

Tenderfoot
Aug 9, 2016
Commerce,Ga
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hi. Im new to this site and just came across your thread, and thought you may be able to offer an objective perspective. Im finding these types of rock in my yard and creek behind my house and surrounding woods. I have a mountian of saphrolite.quartz, shiste rock, granites. And the creek travels down to a deep ravine .its right next door to me about 10 ft lower than I am .the creek is full of boulders. Bottom and each bank. Anyway I've been picking up rocks for a year, not digging more than a foot. But these look like they may have fine gold.,I've seen gold using a magnified camera. There is heavy mica as well. They sure look like the pictures of ore that I find on internet. Sorry if this is too long. Im still learning.

Attachments

• 1472085294652.jpg
    1472085294652.jpg
    99.1 KB · Views: 182
  • 1472085323000.jpg
    1472085323000.jpg
    128.5 KB · Views: 170
  • 1472085351109.jpg
    1472085351109.jpg
    101.6 KB · Views: 162
  • 1472085380019.jpg
    1472085380019.jpg
    94 KB · Views: 194

Eu_citzen

Gold Member
Sep 19, 2006
Sweden
Detector(s) used
White's V3, Minelab Explorer II & XP Deus.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Crush and pan to know for sure. Pic #4 is pegmatite, I'd try and find the source. If lucky, it may contain interesting minerals.

HobbyHuntress

Jun 3, 2016
North Metro Atlanta area, Georgia
Detector(s) used
None yet!
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Unfortunately, you're not really in an area that's known for gold, more granite, pyrite, and iron. I wouldn't spend a lot of time in this heat crushing rocks. Been there, done that...it's a pain!

You're better off looking for beryl. That's what's in Commerce :D

Download the Georgia Mineral Resource map from 1969 here

Have fun hunting!

Last edited:

triple d

Nov 17, 2013
Central N.H
Detector(s) used
36" BGT Prospector, 30" BGT Sniper, And related gold prospecting equipment
Primary Interest: