Help for Hard Rock noob

arthos

Jun 16, 2017
Suprise, AZ
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Gold Trap; Explorer. Garrett Gold Pans. Minelab X-Terra 705 Gold.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Today I visited an old prospect in my area, I collected some samples though I'm really quite new to hard rock. Here is a description of the material from this specific sits taken from a bulletin by California vision of mines 1959.

Contact of diorite and gabbro with (San Marcos gabbro) (Triassic Santa Ana) Shist, Where vein quartz a accompanies a 4 to 6 ft. aplitic dike now much fractured and decomposed, Manganese oxide stains.
I found an interesting spot to sample the quarts vein (from one side of mineralization to the other) There are noticeable small vugs in the rock which i have read can be a good sign.

I do not own or have access to a rock crusher, I tried smashing the sample with a sledge as best I could, down to about a 1/16" mesh panned it but did not see any gold. Should I have seen gold breaking it down do that size or is that simply not small enough? I was hitting it with 5 lb sledge against my garage concrete man that rock is HARD sparking like crazy and i was afraid id damage my garage post tension concrete floor!. Id hate to discard the sample without knowing if I'm just not doing it right!
20170702_173324.jpg 20170702_142651.jpg 20170702_142710.jpg 20170702_142844 (1).jpg 20170702_173222.jpg 20170702_173324.jpg

Last edited:

Assembler

Silver Member
May 10, 2017
Detector(s) used
Whites, Fisher, Garrett, and Falcon.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello