Detector Purchase Help!!

Pebbles141

Tenderfoot
Oct 17, 2012
Hello,

I'm looking for some help deciding on a MD. I am new to the detecting world. I plan to use it for gold prospecting. Id prefer a fully submersible unit that is able to operate in fresh and salt water.

Problem is I can't seem to find very many options that are capable of this?

So far I've got on my list
Garrett Infinium LS
Tesoro Sand Shark ?

Am I missing something? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Both the Infinium and Sand Shark are Pulse detectors and both are waterproof, not just water resistant. But neither of these has the gain necessary to prospect with for tiny nuggets. All the manufacturers advertise their MD's a able to find nuggets, but how big is the key. Either of these will find all sorts of metal and some smaller nuggets too, but not the "pickers." You can go to far into the sensitivity field too and find the pickers and also the bird shot, BB's.

Jason in Enid

Gold Member
Oct 10, 2009
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Neither of those will work well for gold hunting, unless you are hunting big nuggets. I don't know any really good gold hunters that are waterproof in more than the coil.

Longhair

May 26, 2012
Backside Of Nowhere In Mid-Michigan
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2,
Fisher 1280X,
MineLab Xterra 705,
MineLab Explorer SE
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Since you're new to the hobby and haven't bought anything yet, if I were you I'd change my strategy. Plan on two machines...one for water, and one for land.

Heck, for as addictive as this hobby is, you'll end up with more than one machine eventually anyway.

LuckyLarry

Dec 16, 2005
Sweet Home, Oregon