Gamma 6000 or Coinmaster GT

timfrommn

Mar 29, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi, I'm new to metal detecting and have a budget of about $400. I'm looking for something useful for relic hunting around old farmsteads etc. I believe I've narrowed it down to the Coinmaster GT or the Gamma 6000 (which I found on Amazon for $429). I see a lot of information on the forums on the Delta 4000 and Coinmaster Pro but not much on the Gamma or GT. Thoughts?

fella

Bronze Member
Oct 24, 2012
Wisc
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Forget the Coinmaster Pro! One of the weakest performing entry detectors I've ever used/owned. You can get much better performance for $100 less.
Without ever having used a Gamma I'd buy that no question if that's the only two options.

OP
OP
T

timfrommn

Mar 29, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Forget the Coinmaster Pro! One of the weakest performing entry detectors I've ever used/owned.
But this is a statement on the Pro rather than the GT right? I've heard that that GT uses different electronics than the pro (as well as adding ground balance) and is a quite a bit better machine. I did find one rather disappointing air test on the GT but then read that air tests are all but worthless for evaluating depth.

fella

Bronze Member
Oct 24, 2012
Wisc
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
But this is a statement on the Pro rather than the GT right? I've heard that that GT uses different electronics than the pro (as well as adding ground balance) and is a quite a bit better machine. I did find one rather disappointing air test on the GT but then read that air tests are all but worthless for evaluating depth.

You are correct. I was commenting on the Pro not the GT. That's my mistake, sorry.