Marshfield, MA house w/Pirate Tunnel?

AnnieF

Jul 26, 2012
Western NC
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Howdy! This is my very first post here. I just discovered this site, as I am very new to this hobby. I had *no* idea how many skills this hobby requires to be done right: history, maps, red-tape... OMG... But it's right in my wheel-house. I *love* research and history and am lucky enough to be living in New England so there's a bunch of it beneath my feet. With that in mind:

When my husband and I were house shopping here, south of Boston, in Marshfield, MA, the RE agent mentioned that there was a house here that had a tunnel underneath it that pirates used to use to run and hide (or some such thing) but the point was, there was a house, with a tunnel, used for quick exits... and I seem to remember thinking she specifically mentioned pirates.

Does anyone know anything about this? Any of the legends surrounding it? Names? Specific events? Time periods? Anything?

THANK YOU in advance.
:skullflag:

AC1955

Bronze Member
Apr 22, 2012
New Hampshire & Maine
Detector(s) used
V3i, Excalibur II, White's M6, Coinmaster, Teknetics EurotekPro, White's Surfmaster PI
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to another woman treasure hunter!