question about detectors

glocks&gold

Feb 5, 2015
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello i am new to prospecting and down the road im sure i am going to get me a detector and primarily going after gold ive seen the prices range from 300 on up to 6 grand.Is there a certain price point you get to to where your just buying bells,whistles? or do you have to look at it like the more you spend on a detector the better it is at finding more gold whether it be smaller pieces or the depth at which it is able to find gold therefore paying for itself quicker? thanks guys!

Upvote 0

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
First question to ask yourself is: Where am I going to use my new machine? If you don't live in a place that is known for nuggets, or if you don't have access to a gold claim that is known for nuggets, then you have no business buying a $6,000.00 machine. If you are just going to poke around club claims that have been pounded for years in your spare time, then a VLF like a Fisher Goldbug Pro, Tesoro Lobo Super Traq, or a Whites GMT will work fine for you. If you plan on going deep into the Klondike, or flying deep into the California Rockies, or Arizona's Bradshaw mountains, then maybe you should think about investing in a more expensive and deeper Pulse Induction machine.

Featherdfishead

Apr 4, 2014
Callahan-ScottValley-Salmon River, Ca
Detector(s) used
Primarily Minelab SDC 2300
and Gold Bug Pro with NEL Sharpshooter, Grey Ghost Phones, an EzSluice, a good Pan, various Diggn Tools, and a Good'Ol Dog or Two
Primary Interest:
Prospecting