Please rate and help a newbies build.

A11

Tenderfoot
Oct 28, 2015
Colorado
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
So i'm a complete novice to metal detector prospecting and would like some experienced peoples inputs for my field load out/gear i'm looking at using this upcoming spring/summer here in the Colorado Rockies. Note already have some areas picked out I want to go and figure they fall under the heavy mineralized areas, lota silver/lead ore and magnetite black sand in these areas.
SO for starters I was looking at the following gear for gold prospecting.
Detector = Minelab GPX 4500
Coil = 15" Double D for searching targets then a 8" monoloop for searching surrounding area around any targets found with the 15".
Pin pointer = ?? IDK how handy are these? Any recommended?
Tools = Crevice and chisel set along with a small sledge as well as a folding shovel and treasure pick/ mattock. Sack for trash objects I find as well as a container for any gold.

Basically I picture 4 wheeling into some pretty remote areas and then hiking and metal detecting into remote mountain areas. I plan on using the 15" DD to search for any targets and once I get some good targets/ signal returns then digging for said targets and breaking out the 8" mono to kinda grid scan the surrounding area for any smaller gold and look for a paystreak. Any way those are just my thoughts but I would like some inputs as far as gear and/or tactic recommendations or critiques. Thanks for any inputs.

Upvote 0

Hoser John

Gold Member
Mar 22, 2003
Redding,Calif.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Your trying to fly before you know the walk. Slow down,join a small non profit local yokel club and learn who,what and where with ON hands experience as nugget shooting is the absolute hardest,costliest, time intensive, expensive form of mining there is. EXPERIENCE and not $$$$$$$$$ will bring you success. Have fun first as at least 90%+ give it up quickly. John

Asmbandits

Bronze Member
Mar 4, 2014
NorCal