coil questoins...

desert-rat

Nov 15, 2015
western arizona
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Can some one tell me how much harder a #9 bird shot that is really faint will hit with the 5" coil vs the 10"x5"? I thinking about ordering the smaller coil just don't want to waste my money. Im using a Gold Racer. I finally figured out how to tune it to where im finding super small trash down to the 8-12" range. im new to dirt fishing but this Gold racer has surpassed my expectations by miles and miles! Ive got a good set of head phones coming so that will help as well. I read the book about 4 times online before the detector got here and it helped a lot with being able to know how to tune it. took me about 4 hours to figure out how to "hear" it and tune. I figure as long as im finding those tiny BB's under rock and black sand I have to be on the right track. Any help would be great..

Upvote 0

californiagold

Aug 7, 2014
California goldfields
Detector(s) used
Makro Gold Racer, Nokta Fors gold plus, Makro racer2, Nokta fors gold, minelab gpx5000, fisher gold bug pro and many many others
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
The small 5" coil does hit harder then the 10x5 on tiny gold or bb's. The 10x5 will definitely find them too. Especially with headphones. Also beings the 10x5 is slightly less sensitive to tiny gold you want to go slower so youll hear them. The 10x5 concentric coil does very well with tiny gold also if the mineralization is not too radical. I guess I can mention it now that the Nokta makro company has announced it on detectorprospector but there is a new 7 5 x 4" solid eliptical dd coil coming out very soon for Gold Racer. I will be testing mine this weekend at a tiny gold spot to see what it can do. Personally I would get the new eliptical 7.5 x 4" before I bought the 5" round. I dont think the 5" will find anything that the new one wont. I will post my field report and videos after this weekend. Good luck

meMiner

Bronze Member
Jul 22, 2014
Port Perry, Ontario