Oct 11, 2015
Northern Nevada
Detector(s) used
MineLab GPZ 7000
Garrett ATX Pro
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
OK I'm new at metal detecting.

Been a gold miner (dredging) in California.

Ready to try my hand looking for gold in Nevada using a new Garrett ATX.

Was thinking the Carlin and Battle Mountain/Eureka Trends but that seems to be fine gold only doable through leaching.

So now I'm looking where a lot of placer gold has been found in the Humboldt Range near Lovelock.

Any advice/thoughts on this adventure? Heading out in a couple weeks.

Looking to spend a week searching.

Upvote 0

yardgoat

May 15, 2015
Salmon, Idaho
Detector(s) used
Whites XLT, MX Sport
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I use to live in Reno, Talked to a guy who luck with a metal detector finding small nuggets around Blue mountain by Winnamucca ( Blue mountain is the big volcanic mountain just to the north of Winnamucca , you'll see it from the highway) I never got to explore the area before I moved. But it might be worth a try. He said he was doing the dry washes in the area. Good luck if you go.

OP
OP
Rail Dawg

Rail Dawg

Oct 11, 2015
Northern Nevada
Detector(s) used
MineLab GPZ 7000
Garrett ATX Pro
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I use to live in Reno, Talked to a guy who luck with a metal detector finding small nuggets around Blue mountain by Winnamucca ( Blue mountain is the big volcanic mountain just to the north of Winnamucca , you'll see it from the highway) I never got to explore the area before I moved. But it might be worth a try. He said he was doing the dry washes in the area. Good luck if you go.

Thanks!

That's what I'm thinking...

Dry washes and using a 6 ft breaker bar to move some rocks looking for the vein.

Try to get further back where perhaps it's been less explored with today's technology.

Are claims an issue as far as them being marked? I will stop by BLM for maps and will only hunt on BLM land so maybe I can stake a claim.

63bkpkr

Silver Member
Aug 9, 2007