Greenie
May 27, 2004
Kamloops, BC
Detector(s) used
Lonestar
CCASSELL said:
Is the Bounty Hunters any good?
Clay

I'm not sure how they compare to anything else.. but I'm new to metal detecting and I bought a Bounty Hunter LoneStar. Made in USA, so its not complete crap.
I've found plenty of junk, but nothing too exciting yet. The features are great, discrimination... auto notch and whatnot.
Its not that great at identifying items. Alot of the time, it'll mix everything up (a penny is Junk, a dime is Zinc, a quarter is Iron) it never knows... but then again I live in Canada, and maybe our currency is different? So I tend to dig almost everything.
It seems to identify junk pretty well though.
I wish now I would have bought a model with a depth read-out. It is annoying not to know how deep to dig.

Overall, I'm still very satisfied with it. I'm just learning, and its exciting to hear that beep, and dig something in the ground naked to the human eye on the surface.

L

LEVERK5102

? You will probably get a lot of different responses on that question as everyone has there own preferences. I think is you go for one of the Tesoro models you will get good bang for your buck. The Compadre is $189 suggested retail. So probably drop another $20? dollars or so. Just a very easy turn on and go model.
? ?As far as the Bounty Hunters go you will get mixed reviews. Some people hate them and other really like them. I won a Bounty hunter on another forum. I tested it out a bit but was not thrilled at all with it. I would personally choose any of the major brand detectors over a Bounty Hunter anyday. Tesoro, Whites, Fisher, Garrett and a few others. Sorry if I'm offending anyone.

? ? ? ? ? ?Kerry

Ocean7

Bronze Member
Apr 15, 2004
SE, PA
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 800
Minelab Explorer II
Garrett MASTER HUNTER 7
Garrett ADS DEEPSEEKER
Compass X100
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
White's Classic I Metal Detector

Garrett's Predator 1 Metal Detector