Some advice on detector?

epi-hunter

Nov 1, 2005
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-Trac
Hi all -- I've been using an ACE 250 for a couple of months now, and while I think it's a GREAT machine, I am looking to upgrade to something that gives a little better discrimination and target ID for deeper targets. Also, I need something that I can ground balance.

I've done a lot of reading and research and have just about decided on the Fisher CZ3D. I've read what reviews I can find on this machine, but since it's relatively new there aren't that many. If anyone experienced with this machine could give me some feedback, that would be very, very much appreciated!

I'm in the midwest (so no beach hunting) and primarily am interested in detecting old homesteads and farms (for old coins mainly, but relics too). I'm a little worried because I've read that Fishers have an affinity for iron, and old homesteads tend to have a lot of that.... also, some of these sites can be trashy, even with relatively 'recent' trash like aluminum cans. The soil here varies widely from excellent, no clay and low mineral content, to high amounts of red clay and iron.

I had been thinking seriously about the DFX and Minelab ExpII but have pretty much eliminated those two, primarily because of cost (because I can't see a lot of advantage to the higher cost for my own particular needs, compared to the CZ3D.

Any input would be welcome. Thank you in advance :)

Upvote 0

Born2Dtect

Bronze Member
Jun 11, 2004
Hurlock, Maryland
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, Excalibur II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
For your type of hunting the Fisher CZ3D would do well. The ones I have seen used seem to work well in fields relic hunting.

Ed

hollowpointred

Gold Member
Mar 12, 2005
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE/Garrett GTI 2500/ Ace 250
shoot leon a private message. he swings a cz3d.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used