metal detector for beginner

eupharies

Jul 4, 2009
Hey guys, im looking to get a metal detector, im new to this, but dont really want a beginner one...

Id be using it in france, the region is very rocky / stoney therefore would want 1 that could penetrate rock to a degree... maybe they all can i dont know haha
SO wondered what makes you would recommend, should i buy new or 2nd hand.... Also i wouldnt want to spend over say £200... really....
Any ideas. I looked on ebay at a brand called Seben, but a review told me to stay away from seben...

Upvote 0

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
A Whites 6000 Di pro is a good all-around coin/relic machine. Easy to use (when you get used to the swing speed characteristics), versatile, adaptable to most ground-types, fair TID and depth, time-proven, etc.... Can be had on ebay for around $200 to $300 (USD) me thinks. Be sure you're getting the kind with the 950 loop, and not the earlier 6000 type/generation.

blacktoe

Greenie
Jul 3, 2007
S.E. Georgia
Detector(s) used
Ace 250 Fisher F4, Tek Omega
How much does your 200 translate to in American $dollars?

Maybe more people could help.

blacktoe

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
eupharies, I think the reason you're not getting a reply to your "rocks" criteria, is that .......... ALL detectors penetrate rock, ground, air, etc... I mean, that's the definition of a "metal detector" afterall, right? Or are you talking about something super mineralized or something?