Best detector for $2-300?

Silversound

Jul 11, 2009
SoCal
Hey guys! Newbie here coming over from the coin roll hunting forums. I've been in the market for a detector and was hoping for some experienced advice as to the best ones in the $2-300 range? I'm sure this question has been asked ad infinitum, but I'd appreciate any help! I'm mostly looking for coins and gold in dirt and sand.

Thanks,
George

Upvote 0

GibH

Silver Member
May 17, 2009
Florida
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Surf PI Pro/MXT/Quattro/Sovereign XS2 Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You will get many replies to this post. Personally I would keep checking the classifieds. Awesome deals pop up there all the time. You can get more detector for your money that way.

If you you want new, then my opinion would be either a Tesoro Silver umax or an ACE 250.

AUDuke

Apr 20, 2008
Quartzsite AZ
Detector(s) used
TDI, GB, GM-4, Vaquero, F75, Cibola, Compadre, Stingray, ML Explorer
Tesoro................. New or used... life time warranty

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
GibH said:
You will get many replies to this post. Personally I would keep checking the classifieds. Awesome deals pop up there all the time. You can get more detector for your money that way.

If you you want new, then my opinion would be either a Tesoro Silver umax or an ACE 250.

There are many that like the Tesoro's, but if you want to watch a screen blow smoke up your pant leg, get the Ace 250. It is a nice detector for the money you just can't rely on the screen being right 100% of the time.

rmptr

Silver Member
Dec 25, 2007
Tierra del Fuego
Detector(s) used
Tesoro.Fisher.Garrett