Need advice on which detector to buy please... V3, E-Trac or Safari

Warshrike

Nov 1, 2009
Hi everyone. I am looking for the best overall detector for my tastes. I am moving to South Florida and would like to detect the beaches as well as school yards and such. I want to finde coins, gold, silver. I am NOT much into relic hunting. Anyways, I am considering the Whites V3, the E-Trac and the Safari. Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

PS - I have 2 years experience with an ACE 250 but thats it so far. Thanks!

Upvote 0

limegoldconvertible68

Mar 18, 2009
Illiniois
Detector(s) used
Fisher F70 with 11"DD coil, CZ-21 with 10" coil, Fisher 1265X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
For the money you are going to spend it would be worth your while to find your closest dealer and give him a call. Make sure he has the machines you are considering in stock and take a day off and go visit. Since all your experience is on a simple machine you would really appreciate seeing each machine in action. After a true hands on experience you will know which machine is best FOR YOU. While this web site is a great source of info, you do need to take some of the postings with a grain of salt. Hopefully you can locate a multi-brand dealer within a days drive. I think it will be worth your time.

dig4gold

Dec 11, 2009
Raleigh, NC
Detector(s) used
Ace 250, Minelab Safari
I am brand new to this site so I would like to give a little background. My brother-in-law and I have gone detecting before, we are both new to the sport (? game, hobby, career) but we both have had a desire to detect for many years. He lives in Cary, NC and I live in Raleigh, NC.

He has a Nautilus IIBa detector and I have an Ace 250. I have noticed that his detector can pick up signals that I cannot even with my sensitivity all the way up. Sooooo...

I am in the same boat, I am really enjoying detecting but I want a high end machine.