Logging artifacts

rickomatic

Greenie
May 14, 2010
Snohomish WA
Detector(s) used
some el cheapo right now
Hey guys and gals. As you can see by my post count I am a newbie. Not just to this forum, but to metal detecting as well.
Anyway, as I've been wracking my brain trying to come up with areas to try out my new hobby, and something came to my mind, and I was wondering if anyone else had tried this and had any luck.
The area I live in (Western Washington State) has a long history of logging, and I wondered if anyone had tried detecting in old logged out areas from the turn of the century or the early 20th century. When I look at pictures of old loggers and their techniques I can't help but imagine that they may have "lost" stuff around the trees they were cutting. If you look at old pictures of them on springboards hacking away at huge trees, you can see that they must have spent hours (days??) bouncing up and down on them.
I even have a few old stumps on my property with old springboard notches. I think I'll give em a go this weekend and see if I come up with anything.
Anyone here ever try this kind of hunt?

Upvote 0

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
CA has logging history too, and I've worked spots associated with them. I can tell you right now, you'll be wasting your time hunting where the men "worked". Better to find out where their camps were: Where they slept, ate, drank, lived, and played. Not where they worked. Find the locations of their little tent-city camp towns, which would have moved around from location to location, as they depleted trees area by area.

S

stefen

There are (or were) several people that hunted logging camps & millworks who posted on TN in the past...

Lots of interesting finds posted...

All finds were in and around where the millworks...

When your looking for a needle in a haystack....always look in the smallest haystack :thumbsup: