researching questions

Truffleshuffle

Sep 19, 2010
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
I am new to detecting and I am doing a little resurching for places for a possible hunts when I get my ace 250 after I learn it a little and was wondering Where would I get old maps and things for locations Im looking at. Right now Im resurching two Civil war battlefields around my area and I Would like to know If what I think is where some of the battles took on new maps and photos match up on old maps of the areas. Would like to know best places to look for old maps becuase alot of the places have changed over the years. Also would there be places on the net to look? would a local library be a good place?

Upvote 0

Tuberale

Gold Member
May 12, 2010
Portland, Oregon
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster Pro
One of the best things about researching is learning how to use your computer.

If you already know what the battlefields are called, try typing them into a search engine of your choice, and see what happens. If you don't know what they are called, try researching your county and state for Civil War battlefields, and see if what you are looking for pops up near the top of the list.

OP
OP
T

Truffleshuffle

Sep 19, 2010
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Tuberale said:
One of the best things about researching is learning how to use your computer.

If you already know what the battlefields are called, try typing them into a search engine of your choice, and see what happens. If you don't know what they are called, try researching your county and state for Civil War battlefields, and see if what you are looking for pops up near the top of the list.
I already have done that. I know the sites sort of. I would like to know where to start to look for old maps of the area's around the times of the battles to see If I am right about where I think it took place and look for landmarks of the surrounding area.

Tuberale

Gold Member
May 12, 2010
Portland, Oregon
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster Pro