New to metal detectors

dtu2179

Feb 9, 2011
Baltimore, MD
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hello everyone, I am new to metal detecting. I am planning on coin hunting (mainly silver coins) in the Baltimore area as well as a 1820s farm house near Gettysburg PA. I have narrowed my choices down to the following detectors after some research and calls to Whites and Garrett.

Whites MXT or Garrett Ace 250

The Garrett seems more simple and is cheaper in price, but the Whites seems like it might be a more effective unit in terms of discrimination.

I am hpoing to start out with a simple yet quality detector that will do what I am trying to do.

Any thoughts and input is appreciated.

Duane

Upvote 0

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Your choices are many. The MXT is a lot more detector for the money, but it does cost more than the 250 also. The big advantage of the MXT is it has ground balance where as the 250 an 350 don't. Not having GB is no real trouble if your ground is low in minerals.

Both will find silver coins with no trouble! The problem is hunting a spot that has silver coins in the ground. Personally I don't like MD's with screens for newcomers because they tend to only believe what the screen tells them. The detectors only report on the conductivity of the target and not what it really is so they leave lots of great targets in the ground.

Daedalus

Feb 2, 2011
Strafford , Missouri
Detector(s) used
Minelab Sovereign GT / MineLab X-Terra 705
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Both are good machines, but have you thought about the AT PRO ? If it is not too much money then that one would be a great machine to start with and be able to use it for years.