Depth

mu50stang

Mar 2, 2011
I'm new to metal detecting and have an ace 250 and a garret pinpointer. I have done about 20 hours and all I have found is clad and 2 wheats. I was wondering if its common to find silver in that amount of time. Is it possible that my detector isn't doing deep enough. I have the sensitivity set between 3-4. Everything I find is about 4 inches and above. I'm trying not to get discouraged but its hard when you don't find anything cool. One more question, I was in the back yard of a house that was built in 1914 and about 9 inches deep I found something metal that is around 12 inches by 12 inches, Is it worth digging up or should i leave it. Thanks.

Upvote 0

m bryan

Jun 12, 2010
east texas
Detector(s) used
Delta 4000 and Garrett 300 Teknetics T2 Minelab Explorer SE Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
20 hours and two wheaties is a good start! Might want to dig that 12 by 12.....you never know.

Daedalus

Feb 2, 2011
Strafford , Missouri
Detector(s) used
Minelab Sovereign GT / MineLab X-Terra 705
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Just keep swinging that coil and you will find great targets !
You have to remember that you might not have even been near the targets you are looking for.
The more practice you get the better your finds will be , and it just takes time.
Even if you had a bigger more costly machine it would not mean you would have found anymore than you have.

UTcoinshootR

Mar 5, 2008
UT!
Detector(s) used
Ace 250, DFX300
I started with the Ace250 too. I still wish I hadn't sold it to my buddy. I regularly got down to 6" targets with mine. One thing I have learned is that old stuff is deep. If you want silver don't dig 2" targets because its probably clad. 4"+ will be a good standard if you just want silver. You'll miss some rings with this method though.

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2