sparkydog

Sep 28, 2008
Boulder Colorado
Detector(s) used
Whites: Surf, Eagle II SL, GMT.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Go'in for Gold!

I have been detecting for more than 10 yrs. and have 2 old but very functional Whites (VLF Beach Hunter and a more complex Eagle II Sl).

Both do fine for coins and relics but neither is optimized for gold and I'm heading to Colorado soon and in addition to panning I'd like to search with a metal detector.

I'm looking for a good deal on used but could spring for about a grand if a new unit could be had in that range that really works well.

From what I can gather I'm guessing I want PI with continuous ground tracking or VLF with optimized frequency for small gold.

Any and all thoughts would be welcome.

Upvote 0

mlayers

Gold Member
Oct 29, 2007
Northern, OH
Detector(s) used
DFX, White PI, Bounty Hunter, Whites Surfmaster II and Excalibur II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Re: Go'in for Gold!

White's TDI is great for finding small pickers......Matt

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

I tend to favor the special gold detectors as these have the sens, gain and frequencies to find the small gold pickers along with the Huge nuggets that you can hardly call a nugget. Hey, it can happen to you.......

Read all you can in the field tests of the various manufacturers. Most dealers don't stock these but will order them for you. Try to find someone that has done it a lot for advice.

OP
OP
sparkydog

sparkydog

Sep 28, 2008
Boulder Colorado
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Prospecting

mlayers, Woodland Detectors and Sandman: